MINUTES OF A REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION FOR NASHVILLE COMMUNITY HIGH SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 99, WASHINGTON, JEFFERSON AND PERRY COUNTIES, HELD AT THE SCHOOL BUILDING IN THE CITY OF NASHVILLE, ILLINOIS ON JUNE 23, 2020, AT 6:30 P.M.

The Board of Education for Nashville Community High School District No. 99 met in regular session on Tuesday evening, June 23, 2020, at the High School Building in the City of Nashville, Illinois pursuant to the rules of the Board of Education.

Upon roll call the following answered present:		
Paul Barczewski	Present (Arrived 6:41 p.m.)	
Sharon Ogrzewalla	Present	
Kim Morris	Present (Arrived 6:48 p.m.)	
Kevin Rench	Present	
Randy Schwartzkopf	Present	
Shawn Cook	Present	
Thomas Speedie	Present (Arrived 6:42 p.m.)	

Also present were Superintendent Brad Turner and Principal Mark Begando. In

addition, Teacher Jessica Greten as well as the media were present.

It was moved by Randy Schwartzkopf and seconded Kevin Rench to approve the

consent agenda, minutes, payment of bills, and financial reports, as presented.

Upon roll call the members voted as follows:	
Paul Barczewski	Absent
Sharon Ogrzewalla	Yea
Kim Morris	Absent
Kevin Rench	Yea
Randy Schwartzkopf	Yea
Shawn Cook	Yea
Thomas Speedie	Absent
The President declared the motion carried.	

It was moved by Randy Schwartzkopf and seconded by Kevin Rench to accept the

Treasurer's report, as presented.

Upon roll call the members voted as follows:	
Paul Barczewski	Absent
Sharon Ogrzewalla	Yea
Kim Morris	Absent
Kevin Rench	Yea
Randy Schwartzkopf	Yea
Shawn Cook	Yea
Thomas Speedie	Absent
The President declared the motion carried.	

Principal Mark Begando gave a report on 2020-21 school year planning.

It was moved by Randy Schwartzkopf and seconded by Tom Speedie to approve

the 2019-20 Amended Budget.

Upon roll call the members voted a	s follows:
Paul Barczewski	Yea
Sharon Ogrzewalla	Yea
Kim Morris	Yea
Kevin Rench	Yea
Randy Schwartzkopf	Yea
Shawn Cook	Yea
Thomas Speedie	Yea
The President declared the motion	carried.

It was moved by Randy Schwartzkopf and seconded by Paul Barczewski to approve

the renewal of Property & Casualty and Worker's Compensation Insurance through PSIC

for 2020-2021, as presented.

Upon roll call the members voted as follows:	
Paul Barczewski	Yea
Sharon Ogrzewalla	Yea
Kim Morris	Yea
Kevin Rench	Yea
Randy Schwartzkopf	Yea
Shawn Cook	Yea
Thomas Speedie	Yea
The President declared the motion carried.	

It was moved by Tom Speedie and seconded by Paul Barczewski to approve the

submission of the ESEA of 1965 as Amended, Title I & II grant applications.

The board members voted as follows: Voting <u>7</u> Yea <u>0</u> Nay The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Randy Schwartzkopf and seconded by Tom Speedie to approve

the abatement of an \$18,000 loan from Working Cash Fund to Transportation Fund.

Upon roll call the members voted as follows:	
Paul Barczewski	Yea
Sharon Ogrzewalla	Yea
Kim Morris	Yea
Kevin Rench	Yea
Randy Schwartzkopf	Yea
Shawn Cook	Yea
Thomas Speedie	Yea
The President declared the motion	carried.

It was moved by Paul Barczewski and seconded by Randy Schwartzkopf to approve

the abatement of a \$5,000 loan from Working Cash Fund to Bond & Interest Fund.

Upon roll call the members voted as	s follows:
Paul Barczewski	Yea
Sharon Ogrzewalla	Yea
Kim Morris	Yea
Kevin Rench	Yea
Randy Schwartzkopf	Yea
Shawn Cook	Yea
Thomas Speedie	Yea
The President declared the motion	carried.

It was moved by Tom Speedie and seconded by Randy Schwartzkopf to approve

the repayment of a \$12,000 loan from Working Cash Fund to Bond & Interest Fund.

Upon roll call the members voted a	as follows:
Paul Barczewski	Yea
Sharon Ogrzewalla	Yea
Kim Morris	Yea
Kevin Rench	Yea
Randy Schwartzkopf	Yea
Shawn Cook	Yea
Thomas Speedie	Yea
The President declared the motion	carried.

It was moved by Sharon Ogrzewalla and seconded by Paul Barczewski to approve

the Health Life Safety 10 Year Survey, as presented.

Upon roll call the members voted as	follows:
Paul Barczewski	Yea
Sharon Ogrzewalla	Yea
Kim Morris	Yea
Kevin Rench	Yea
Randy Schwartzkopf	Yea
Shawn Cook	Yea
Thomas Speedie	Yea
The President declared the motion of	carried.

It was moved by Tom Speedie and seconded by Kevin Rench to approve an increase

in substitute pay to \$85/day.

The board members voted as follows: Voting $\frac{7}{0}$ Yea $\frac{0}{0}$ Nay The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Randy Schwartzkopf and seconded by Tom Speedie to approve

the proposed change in procedure for student Chromebook insurance beginning 2020-21 school year, as presented.

The board members voted as follows: Voting 7 Yea 0 Nay

The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Paul Barczewski and seconded by Kim Morris to approve the status of closed session minutes and to destroy closed session audio recordings exceeding 18 months.

The board members voted as follows: Voting $\underline{7}$ Yea

<u>0</u> Nay

The President declared the motion carried.

Superintendent Brad Turner reported on building and ground projects.

It was moved by Kim Morris and seconded by Randy Schwartzkopf to go into

closed session at 7:00 p.m. for the purpose to discuss and review closed session minutes,

and to discuss the employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of

employees.

Upon roll call the members voted	as follows:
Paul Barczewski	Yea
Sharon Ogrzewalla	Yea
Kim Morris	Yea
Kevin Rench	Yea
Randy Schwartzkopf	Yea
Shawn Cook	Yea
Thomas Speedie	Yea
The President declared the motion	carried.

It was moved by Tom Speedie and seconded by Randy Schartzkopf to go out of

closed session at 7:22 p.m.

Upon roll call the members voted as follows:	
Paul Barczewski	Yea
Sharon Ogrzewalla	Yea
Kim Morris	Yea
Kevin Rench	Yea
Randy Schwartzkopf	Yea
Shawn Cook	Yea
Thomas Speedie	Yea
The President declared the motion carried.	

It was moved by Kim Morris and seconded by Paul Barczewski to employ Calvin

O'Rear as AE Teacher for the 2020-21 school year.

Upon roll call the members voted	as follows:
Paul Barczewski	Yea
Sharon Ogrzewalla	Yea
Kim Morris	Yea
Kevin Rench	Yea
Randy Schwartzkopf	Yea
Shawn Cook	Yea
Thomas Speedie	Yea
The President declared the motion	n carried.

It was moved by Tom Speedie and seconded by Kim Morris to adjourn the meeting.

The board members voted as follows: Voting $\frac{7}{0}$ Yea $\frac{0}{0}$ Nay The President declared the motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at 7:23 p.m.

PRESIDENT

SECRETARY